Van Dellen Scholarship Winners for 2019 Announced

The Westfield Foundation is happy to announce Brianna Hatch and Margaret Kelly as the Clarence H. and Florence Horn Van Dellen Scholarship recipients for 2019.  

Brianna was a true leader at WHS.  She was President of Student Government, Captain of the cross country and track teams, officer of the National Honor Society, vice president of the Class Council and Transition Outreach Leader.

Brianna Hatch

In addition, Brianna was a volunteer at Children’s Specialized Hospital, and earned her Girl Scout Gold Award (12 years in scouts) by writing and recording a CD with children with special needs.  Brianna graduated with a 4.279 GPA, while taking 11 Honors and 6 AP courses.  She intends to pursue either a double major in Political Science/Public Policy and Psychology and/or Journalism on a Pre-Law track.  She will be attending Washington and Lee University.  In the summer, Brianna spends hours writing music for vocals and piano, running through Westfield streets (yes, even in the blistering heat), and teaching drama to elementary school children at her church.  For Brianna’s senior project, she translated a song she wrote into sign language and taught kindergarteners at Lincoln School how deaf children experience music.  Brianna’s passion is rooted in advocacy, hence her decision to study Politics and Journalism.

Margaret earned multiple varsity letters in field hockey, winter track and spring track.  She led her field hockey team in scoring her junior and senior years at WHS.   She was first chair (section leader) in violin for the orchestra.  At Children’s Specialized Hospital, Margaret was a swim volunteer for their aquatics program.  She was also a peer leader and a member of the Pastoral Council at Holy Trinity Church. 

Margaret Kelly

Margaret graduated with a 4.191 GPA, with 10 Honors and 5 advanced placement courses.  She will be attending Boston University and plans to study biology, on the premed track.  In 8th grade, Margaret decided to become a pediatrician after seeing her uncle suffer with cancer and how her family struggled to let him go.  She wants to alleviate the suffering for patients and their families when dealing with a medical diagnosis, such as cancer.  Her interest in biology was sparked by two ‘amazing’ teachers, Mr. Brewster and Mrs. Dennis, who helped her to engage in the subject matter and encouraged her to pursue a biology degree.  For her senior project, she taught herself how to needlepoint and completed a pillow design that she handstitched herself.

The Van Dellen Scholarship is $5,000 a year for four years totaling $20,000.  The selection criteria for the scholarship are: Community Service, Academic Achievement (top 25% of class), Character, Financial Need and Leadership.

The Westfield Rotary’s Scholarship Committee also selects several scholarship winners on behalf of funds administered by The Westfield Foundation.   Two top scholarships were awarded in memory of Charles and Florence Wallace totaling $15,000 each to be paid over the course of four years. The recipients are Brianna Hatch and Lauren Kamienski (U. of Delaware).                                               

The recipient of the $5,000 Scholarship in Memory of Chester A. Gerdes, is Jack Gerris (Michigan State University).   The Wallace $5,000 scholarship was awarded to Daniel Han (Rutgers U.).  In addition, two Linda Read Memorial Scholarships of $4,000 each were awarded to Bridget Scaglione (University of South Carolina) and Carlee Swenson (Sacred Heart University). The Read Law Scholarships in the amount of $5,000 each were awarded to Emma Herber (William and Mary) and Mackenzie Dulski (Villanova).

Over $155,000 was distributed in scholarships to students.  The complete scholarship listing can be found here.

Since 1975, the mission of the Westfield Foundation has been to provide funding support in the arts, health, aging, historic preservation, social services and civic projects.  In pursuit of these goals, the Foundation has granted over $6,400,000 to various organizations.  Money to support the Foundation’s grants has been and continues to be provided by concerned and caring Westfield residents. For more information about the Westfield Foundation grant or donor opportunities, please contact Betsy Chance, Executive Director at 908-233-9787.

2018 Van Dellen Scholarship Winners: Claire Hunter and Mia Melao

Westfield – The Westfield Foundation is pleased to announce Claire Hunter and Mia Melao as the Clarence H. and Florence Horn Van Dellen Scholarship recipients for 2018.

Claire Hunter studies at The College of New Jersey.

Claire was an outstanding student at WHS, taking a very demanding program of study.  She balanced her rigorous academic schedule while teaching “Little Stars” – a dance program for children with special needs and disabilities.  She was an Assistant Athletic Trainer, a Transition Leader and has reached the highest level in Girl Scouts.

Claire is attending The College of New Jersey.  She is studying Occupational Therapy. Her journey to become an occupational therapist was sparked by her Junior research paper.  Being a lifelong dancer, she wanted to combine her love of dance with her interest in the health sciences.   She focused on the use of dance therapy with autistic children.  Her results found a positive effect on the physical, emotional, mental and social well-being of the children. Her goal is to use dance therapy combined with a degree as an occupational therapist to help children with autism.

Mia Melao is a student at Fairfield University.

At WHS, Mia was a standout cross-country runner and is on the cross-country team for Fairfield University in Connecticut, where she is enrolled in the honors program, studying nursing. Mia shared her love of running with youth in the area, as a coach for the Westfield YMCA Flyers Track Club.  Additionally, Mia was an active member at WHS as a transition leader, a member of the WHS National Honor Society, volunteered as a peer minister at St. Helen’s Church, and volunteered for Project Linus, a charity dedicated to distributing blankets to children in hospitals, shelters, and social service agencies.

Mia realized she wanted to be a nurse during her junior year of high school.  An AP Biology class reading requirement, Origins: How the Nine Months Before Birth Shape the Rest of Our Lives by Annie Murphy Paul, inspired her Junior research paper.  For her research, Mia studied new technologies which could predict illnesses in a fetus that would not present themselves until late adulthood.  This paper combined with her dissection unit in biology made her realize she loved the sciences and inspired her to become a nurse.

The Van Dellen Scholarship is $10,000 a year for four years totaling $40,000.  The selection criteria for the scholarship are: community service, academic achievement (top 25% of class), character, financial need and leadership.

The Westfield Rotary’s Scholarship Committee also administers several scholarships for the community-based Westfield Foundation.  Two top scholarships awarded in memory of Charles and Florence Wallace total $15,000 each, to be paid over the course of four years. The 2018 recipients are Claire Hunter and Shea Elliott.   The recipient of the Scholarship in memory of Chester A. Gerdes is Noah Ensslin.  In addition, the Linda Read Memorial Scholarships recipient is Julia Vricella-Stokes and the Read Law Scholarships recipients are Julia Schiano and Julia Robb.

Complete listing of the 2018 scholarship winners is here.